Search Government Affairs!

Narrow your search by selecting one or more of the options below:

To find WEFTEC materials please visit WEFTEC.ORG!

On April 14, the Committee on Homeland Security’s Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection and Security Technologies voted 6-4 to approve H.R. 901, the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Security Authorization Act (CFATS) of 2011, which extends the regulatory authority through 2017. The Subcommittee amended the Homeland Security Act of 2002 to codify the requirement that the Secretary of Homeland Security maintain chemical facility anti-terrorism security regulations. Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY), the ranking democrat on the Subcommittee, offered an amendment expanding the coverage of the CFATS program to include water and wastewater treatment facilities and delegate authority to the EPA; however, the amendment was defeated.