WEF’s Disinfection & Public Health Committee shall develop, coordinate and conduct programs of general and technical information relating to the advancement of disinfection practices for water, wastewater, and residuals to protect public health.

The goals of the Committee are to grow and assist the Federation, both domestic and international, in the educational aspects of these disinfection and public health issues.

Disinfection & Public Health Committee members serve as WEF’s technical resource for all topics related to disinfection including, but not limited to:

  • New approaches to disinfection, optimization of proven methods, and the use of existing technologies for new applications;
  • Disinfection regulations, standards and permit compliance;
  • Disinfection byproducts and other challenges
  • The design, operation and maintenance of disinfection systems
  • Wet weather and reclaimed water disinfection;
  • Proper handling and environmental safety of disinfectants
  • Community sanitation and clean drinking water efforts

Products
Volunteers share their knowledge of these and other topics by:

  • Developing workshops and moderating technical sessions each year at WEFTEC®;
  • Sponsoring a biannual disinfection specialty conference;
  • Authoring articles for WEF's technical journals;
  • Participating in the development of educational materials such as books, webcasts, distance learning courses and more;
  • Providing comments to WEF Government Affairs on Federation Position Statements and U.S. government regulations and policies.

Meetings

The Disinfection & Public Health Committee meets at committee-associated conferences and each year at WEFTEC. Most committee business, however, is conducted via teleconference or email.

Committee Membership Application

WEFCOM

Chair

Scott Schaefer, 2019 - 2021
Tel: 763-463-5036
Email: scott.schaefer@ae2s.com

Vice-Chairs

Kari Brisolara, 2019- 2021
Tel:    504-568-5725
Email:  kbriso@lsuhsc.edu

Brian Hilts, 2019 - 2021
Tel:  518-782-4500
Email:  hiltsba@cdmsmith.com 

Staff Manager

Beth Conway
Tel: 703-684-2400 ext. 5265
Email: Econway@wef.org

Disinfection is practiced using many different means to improve water quality for subsequent downstream use.  Unless contamination of receiving water is prevented by adequate disinfection of wastewater effluent, waterborne diseases may be spread.

Disinfection Subcommittees

Conferences and Events
Stan Shmia - Chair
Stanley.Shmia@denora.com 

Michael Watts - Co-chair
mjwatts@garverusa.com

Jenny Reina - Co-chair
Jenny.Reina@jacobs.com

Communications
Brian Hilts - Chair
HiltsBA@cdmsmith.com

Philip Block - Co-chair
philip.block@peroxychem.com

Bob English - Co-chair
bob.english@palintestusa.com

Membership
Stan Shmia - Chair
Stanley.Shmia@denora.com 

Maria Claudia Reed - Co-chair
mreed@brwncald.com

Todd Archer - Co-chair
archer.todd@gmail.com

Microconstituents
Bertrand Dussert - Chair
bertrand.dussert@xyleminc.com

Jenny Reina - Co-chair
Jenny.Reina@jacobs.com

Gary Hunter - Co-chair
huntergl@bv.com

Pathogen Standards
Raul Gonzalez - Chair
rgonzalez@hrsd.com

Akin Babatola
ababatola@cityofsantacruz.com

Rasha Maal-Bared
rmaalbar@epcor.com

Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WaSH)
Christine Yi - Chair
cyi@hazenandsawyer.com

Keerthi Palanisamy - Co-chair
palanika@mail.uc.edu

Maria Claudia Reed - Co-chair
m
reed@brwncald.com

Webcasts
Josh Goldman-Torres - Chair
goldmanje@cdmsmith.com

Rasha Maal-Bared
rmaalbar@epcor.com

Workshops
Leonard Casson - Chair
casson@pitt.edu

Ajit Ghorpade - Co-chair
ajit.ghorpade@veolia.com

Keerthi Palanisamy - Co-chair
palanika@mail.uc.edu

Steering
DPHC Leadership

Nominations
DPHC Leadership